Facebook users warned over “Who is glancing through my profile?” Scam

By on March 16, 2010
submit to reddit

Applications that offer to list who is checking your Facebook profile are a scam.

A series of Facebook applications going by titles such as “Who is checking my facebook profile”, “Who is glancing through my profile” , “Who visited your profile” etc have been reported to be scam applications that send out links to all your Facebook contacts and displays their pictures when the link is clicked.

A Facebook page displaying an instance of the scam application.

According to an article on The Register:

Rik Ferguson, a senior security consultant at Trend Micro, warns he has already identified 25 different copies of the same rogue app but using different monikers such as peeppeep-pro, profile-check-online and stalk-my-profile.

All of the rogue apps are spread by updates seeking to lure the friends of previous victims to give the stalkerware a try. Some even offer a photo montage of a victim’s contacts in a bid to add more authenticity. However, none of the apps actually do anything except profit their creators via ad affiliate revenues and deceptive tactics.

“The app itself is designed to look convincing enough, but none of the many ‘Continue’ buttons it offers will activate some under-the-counter profile checking functionality – they will just push you into another Facebook app earning the scammer advertising revenue in the process,” Ferguson explains in a blog post containing screenshots illustrating the scam, which resurfaced over the weekend.

“There is no officially sanctioned Facebook functionality that will allow you to view who has been checking your profile.”

The Tech Channel website has some advice on how to avoid such scams:

Steps to protect yourself from such who is checking my facebook profile scams:

1. Make sure that if you receive any notifications from any of your friends asking you to click on the link which will look like – http://apps.facebook.com/xyz/ etc. to know who is visiting your profile, please do not click on that link. It’s a scam.

2. Never join any such group or a page like “who is checking my profile”. You may receive some spam messages on that group and it is likely that you can click on those links.
Know that if there’s going to be any such app it’ll be by facebook itself. Third party apps without any verification should be strict no no! Just play safe.

3. If your news feed shows any of your friend update about one of such apps, just hide that app forever by clicking oh Hide button on the top left of that link.

If you are still a victim of any such scam on facebook then please report to facebook as soon as possible or comment here for community solution.


About

Hitesh is a tech/games journalist and Business Development Manager for the Tbreak Network.

Comments
  • Ex-friend of Stupid

    It won't even let you remove yourself if one of your friends is the one who fell for the scam and you are in their "photo montage". :-( It keeps saying "A validation error occurred." Anyone have any ideas? I've already blocked the person that it came from, but it still shows up…

  • Phyllis

    I foolishly clicked on this link from a friend–now the photo montage appears under the Photo Apps on my Facebook Photo Page–and you cannot open it or delete it. It now also appears at the same place on the Photo page of all of my friends. When you click on the link–it says link expired–but the photo remains. Since I cannot open the link I have no way to hide it. Any suggestions????

Most Read
Most Commented
Competitions
Win two Toshiba AT200 tablets

This festive season Toshiba has 2 tablets to giveaway.

Win an MSI FM2-A85XA-G65 Motherboard

Thanks to MSI we have an great AMD FM2 motherboard to giveaway.

Win a Nokia Asha 311

Thanks to Nokia we have a great entry-level smartphone to giveaway.