Six Mega Drive classics announced for PSN

By on March 31, 2011

Plus members get them free.

Share this Article


First Impressions
My reaction is

SEGA has announced that a list of six Mega Drive classics will arrive to the PlayStation Network in the next few months. PlayStation Plus subscribers are the fortunate ones, as they can download the announced games for free. Meanwhile, regular PSN users have to plunge $6.00 to play the following classics.

- Sonic the Hedgehog (out now)
- Sonic 2 (April 6 for PlayStation Plus members, April 20 on PSN)
- Streets of Rage 2 (May 4 for PS Plus, May 18 on PSN)
- Golden Axe 2 (June 1 for PS Plus, June 15 on PSN)
- Altered Beast
- Comix Zone

A specific release date has yet to be given by SEGA for Altered Beast and Comix Zone. SEGA’s campaigns manager Mike Kebby has confirmed that each game will feature PS3 trophy support next to online leaderboards and online co-op for Sonic 2, Streets of Rage 2, Altered Beast and Golden Axe II.

Head over to the official PS Blog to view the trophy list for Sonic the Hedgehog which was released earlier today.


Other than his excessively biased enthusiasm toward gaming, and technology behind the whole industry, there's a huge fondness inside that drives him nuts to pick up his keyboard and start writing for the love of it.

More News
Most Read
Most Commented