Getting you ready for Cataclysm

By on December 6, 2010

What’s new and what’s changed.

Share this Article


First Impressions
My reaction is

New Leveling Zones

Apart from Kezan and Gilneas for the Goblins and Worgens respectively, the Goblins get another zone called The Lost Isles, for levels 5 to 12. In the meanwhile we have the Twilight Highlands, Uldum, Deepholm, Mount Hyjal and Vashj’ir for high-end leveling, from 80 to 85.

New PvP Zones

No new expansion would be complete with just high level questing zones, so here are some of the new PvP zones in the game. Firstly we have Tol Barad, which is an outdoor PvP zone like Wintergrasp, then we have two battlegrounds in the shape of Twin Peaks and Battle for Gilneas. The last battleground is actually a 10v10 zone akin to Arathi Basin, in that players have to take control of various resources to reach a max of 2000. Twin Peaks on the other hand is a Capture the Flag mode which is also a 10v10 battleground and works similar to the infamous Warsong Gulch. Tol Barad is an interesting zone in that whoever emerges victorious in the battle will have the zone to themselves which will have daily quests for level 85 players. Each battle lasts for 30 minutes with a 2 hour 30 minutes cooldown.

New to Cataclysm is the 10v10 and 15v15 PvP rating system in battlegrounds, so now even you can have a PvP ranking without being super hardcore and going into Arenas.

New Dungeons

There are seven new 5-man PvE dungeons added in Cataclysm, these are: Blackrock Caverns, Grim Batol, Halls of Origination, Lost City of Tol’vir, The Vortex Pinnacle, Throne of Tides and The Stone Core. Apart from these level 85 dungeons, we also have heroic remakes of two classic dungeons: Heroic Deadmines and Shadowfang Keep.

New Raids

Like the addition of new dungeons, we also get three new raids: Bastion of Twilight, Blackwing Descent and Throne of Four Winds. There is a fourth raid called Baradin Hold which is available to whichever faction is in control of Tol Barad, similar to Vault of Archavon in Wintergrasp.

Yes, you’re not taking on Deathwing himself in any of these raids, but if the previous two expansion packs are anything to go by, don’t expect to destroy The Destroyer (I had to use the pun!) in roughly a year’s time.

Guild Leveling

One of the newer aspects of Cataclysm is the Guild leveling system. This basically means that guilds can now level similar to normal characters, going up to level 25. Guilds can level up as members go through raids, win battlegrounds and arenas and by increasing their profession skills. This will earn extremely interesting rewards like epic mounts, heirloom items, etc. Not to mention abilities like Mass Resurrection which brings back all dead party members in a raid with 35% health and mana with a 10 minutes cooldown, during raids.

Speaking of leveling up, while you can now level up from 1 to 80 quite fast using heirloom items, the XP requirements from level 70 to 80 have been dropped by 20%. It’s now easier and quicker than ever to level up a toon up to 80. From there on is the hard road on towards level 85. Hey, nobody said the Cataclysm was an easy thing to deal with!

« Previous Page Next Page »


From auditing to editing, I now test and analyze the latest gadgets and games instead of the latest financial statements. Both jobs are equally intense and rewarding. When I'm not burning up hardware in the name of science, you'll find me nuking in DOTA 2 or engineering in TF2.

More Features
Most Read
Most Commented